Agenda Item No: 13(c) Report No: 71/14

Report Title: Appointments of Representatives to Serve on Outside

and Joint Bodies 2014/15

Report To: Council Date: 7 May 2014

Wards Affected: All

Report By: Leader of the Council

The Council appoints representatives to serve on a number of outside and joint bodies and, in accordance with the Council Procedure Rules, the Head of Democratic Services asked all councillors to indicate on which organisations they would be interested in serving.

The Leader of the Council (following consultation with the Leaders of the other Political Groups) **Recommends** that the appointment of representatives to serve on outside and joint bodies be as set out in the table below:

Outside Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Representative(s)
3VA Board (Voluntary Action Lewes)	C R O'Keeffe
Action in Rural Sussex	H J F Sheppard
Age UK East Sussex Governing Body	J V Harris E E J Russell (sub)
Asham Literary Endowment Trust (Rep appointed for 3 years, expires 2017)	M P Chartier
Chailey Common Nature Reserve Management Committee	S B Davy H J F Sheppard
(2 reps – I place offered to Chailey Common Freeholders)	
Citizens' Advice Bureaux, Lewes & Seaford	J V S Page
Coastal West Sussex and Greater Brighton Strategic Planning Board (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones
Community Safety Partnership	A X Smith (Chair)
(2 reps – 1 should be Cabinet Member whose portfolio includes Communities)	S J Osborne
Community Transport for the Lewes Area Limited Management Committee	R Robertson
Court of the University of Sussex	R Blackman
(Rep should be Leader of the Council)	Chief Executive
East Sussex Flood Risk Panel	A T Jones
Page 1 of 4	

Outside Body	Representative(s)
(annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	C.D.Dava
East Sussex Gypsy and Travellers Forum (2 reps)	S B Davy I Eiloart
East Sussex Health and Well-Being Board	I A Nicholson
East Sussex Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	E C Merry
(Rep cannot be member of Cabinet)	
East Sussex Rural Partnership	I White
East Sussex Strategic Partnership (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
English Heritage – Heritage Champion	R E Allen
Greater Brighton Economic Board: • Board member (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
 Independent Call-in Panel member (1 rep and 1 appointed sub – rep and sub cannot be on the Board or involved in decision being called-in) 	S J Osborne S J Gauntlett (sub)
Joint Portfolio Holders Strategic Planning Group (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones
Lewes Conservation Area Advisory Group (1 rep and 1 appointed sub)	M P Chartier J Stockdale (sub)
Lewes Joint Parking Board (2 reps)	R Blackman I Eiloart
Lewes Town Partnership	J Stockdale
Local Government Association: • General Assembly (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
Coastal Issues Special Interest Group	R E Allen
 District Councils' Network (1 rep and 1 appointed sub) 	J M Harrison-Hicks J V Harris (sub)
Rural Services Network/SPARSE (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
Seaford Community Partnership	S Adeniji
Seaford Head Local Nature Reserve Management Committee (2 reps)	I A Nicholson P L Franklin
South Downs National Park Authority (Rep appointed for 4 years, expires 2015)	A T Jones
South East England Councils (1 rep and 1 appointed sub – rep and sub should be Cabinet Members)	I A Nicholson A X Smith (sub)

Outside Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Representative(s)
Sussex Community Foundation (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
Sussex County Playing Fields Association	H J F Sheppard
Sussex Downs and Low Weald LEADER Local Action Group	H J F Sheppard
Sussex Police and Crime Panel (1 rep and 1 appointed sub)	A X Smith S J Osborne (sub)
Wave Trust Leisure Board	C R O'Keeffe
West Sussex Joint Planning Board (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones

Joint Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Proportionality (where appropriate) LibDem-Con-UKIP-Ind (see Report No 70/14)	Representative(s)
Housing Consultative Panel (4 reps and Cabinet Member with responsibility for Housing as ex-officio member)	4 (2 - 2 - 0 - 0)	A Dean S Saunders P Gander C Sugarman (plus I A Nicholson, Cabinet Member for Health and Environment, ex officio)
Landport Bottom Management Committee (4 reps)	4 (1 - 2 - 1 becomes 2 - 0 - 1 - 1, see paragraph 19 of Report No 70/14)	M P Chartier M A Cutress D R Edmunds C R O'Keeffe
Planning Service User Group (3 reps – 1 should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	3 (1 - 2 - 0 - 0)	P F Gardiner A T Jones J V Harris

The Head of Democratic Services has been informed that the following Outside Bodies have been disbanded or that appointments are no longer required for 2014/2015:

- Local Government Association Rural Commission (previously 2 reps, Councillors P Gander and S Osborne)
- Newhaven Strategic Network (rep previously Councillor R Robertson)
- Ouse Estuary Nature Reserve Liaison Group (rep previously Councillor R Robertson)

- South East Employers Local Democracy and Accountability Network (previously 2 reps, Councillors P L Franklin and E E J Russell)
- South East Employers AGM & South East Regional Council (previously 1 rep and 1 appointed sub, Councillors E E J Russell and R Blackman)
- Tourism South East (rep previously Councillor R Robertson).

Councillor R Blackman Leader of the Council 2 May 2014